Civometry / Questions / Is crime going up?Answered from official statistics · ONS
Is crime going up? Year ending March 2026
4,333,000incidents
Crime Survey estimate of all crime (excluding fraud) was 4,333,000 incidents in the year ending March 2026, down 5.7% (262,000) from 4,595,000 in the year ending March 2025.
ONS Crime in England and Wales: Appendix tables Table A1a published 23 July 2026 full metric page The Crime Survey for England and Wales estimate of the number of crimes experienced by people aged 16 and over and households in a 12-month period, excluding fraud and computer misuse, which lets the series be compared back to 1981.
Crime Survey estimate of all crime (excluding fraud): 1981 to Year ending March 2026 Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Labour Labour Labour Labour Labour Coalition Conservative Conservative Conservative Labour 0 5m 10m 15m 1990 2000 2010 2020 1981: 11,303,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 1983: 12,128,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 1987: 13,647,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 1991: 15,564,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 1993: 18,835,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 1995: 19,786,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 1997: 17,168,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 1999: 15,247,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2002: 12,771,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2003: 12,390,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2004: 11,609,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2005: 10,778,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2006: 10,863,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2007: 11,182,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2008: 10,040,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2009: 10,432,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2010: 9,544,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2011: 9,711,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2012: 9,593,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2013: 8,757,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2014: 7,554,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2015: 7,177,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2016: 6,529,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2017: 6,057,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2018: 6,247,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2019: 6,431,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2020: 5,661,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2023: 4,385,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2024: 4,589,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2025: 4,595,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2026: 4,333,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026
Published value Provisional or revised LatestShaded bands: governments (see labels) Hover or use arrow keys to read a value The number of offences recorded by police forces in England and Wales in a 12-month period, excluding fraud and computer misuse.
Police-recorded crime (excluding fraud): Year ending March 2003 to Year ending March 2026 Labour Labour Labour Labour Coalition Coalition Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Labour 0 2m 4m 2005 2010 2015 2020 2025 Year ending March 2003: 5,791,277 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2004: 5,843,549 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2005: 5,476,771 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2006: 5,425,691 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2007: 5,322,377 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2008: 4,881,140 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2009: 4,630,383 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2010: 4,265,036 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2011: 4,078,475 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2012: 3,903,581 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2013: 3,553,168 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2014: 3,506,545 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2015: 3,574,552 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2016: 3,898,526 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2017: 4,321,587 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2018: 4,890,313 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2019: 5,266,025 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2020: 5,304,892 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2021: 4,615,788 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2022: 5,326,547 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2023: 5,578,041 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2024: 5,402,860 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2025: 5,307,433 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2026: 5,235,213 offences · published 23 July 2026
Published value Provisional or revised LatestShaded bands: governments (see labels) Hover or use arrow keys to read a value Police-recorded offences of violence against the person in England and Wales in a 12-month period, from homicide and wounding through to harassment and stalking.
Violence against the person (police-recorded): Year ending March 2003 to Year ending March 2026 Labour Labour Labour Labour Coalition Coalition Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Labour 0 1m 2m 2005 2010 2015 2020 2025 Year ending March 2003: 708,742 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2004: 799,247 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2005: 845,673 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2006: 838,674 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2007: 814,865 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2008: 748,779 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2009: 709,008 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2010: 699,011 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2011: 665,486 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2012: 626,720 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2013: 601,141 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2014: 634,625 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2015: 778,198 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2016: 991,624 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2017: 1,158,111 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2018: 1,397,707 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2019: 1,673,441 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2020: 1,763,746 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2021: 1,775,871 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2022: 2,095,173 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2023: 2,108,717 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2024: 2,014,005 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2025: 1,937,944 offences · published 23 July 2026 Year ending March 2026: 1,962,413 offences · published 23 July 2026
Published value Provisional or revised LatestShaded bands: governments (see labels) Hover or use arrow keys to read a value Since the current government took office Metric Inherited Latest Change Crime Survey estimate of all crime (excluding fraud) 4,589,000Year ending March 2024 4,333,000Year ending March 2026 ↓ 5.6% Police-recorded crime (excluding fraud) 5,402,860Year ending March 2024 5,235,213Year ending March 2026 ↓ 3.1% Violence against the person (police-recorded) 2,014,005Year ending March 2024 1,962,413Year ending March 2026 ↓ 2.6%
Changes during a government do not by themselves show what it caused. Method .
What these figures don’t measure Crime Survey estimate of all crime (excluding fraud): Fraud and computer misuse, crimes against businesses, homicide, or crimes with no direct victim.
Police-recorded crime (excluding fraud): Crime that was not reported to the police, fraud and computer misuse, or crime in Scotland and Northern Ireland.
Violence against the person (police-recorded): Violence not reported to the police, sexual offences, or robbery, which are counted separately.