Answered from official statistics · ONS

Is crime rising?

Year ending March 2026

4,333,000incidents

Crime Survey estimate of all crime (excluding fraud) was 4,333,000 incidents in the year ending March 2026, down 5.7% (262,000) from 4,595,000 in the year ending March 2025.

  1. ONS
  2. Crime in England and Wales: Appendix tables
  3. Table A1a
  4. published 23 July 2026
  5. full metric page

Crime Survey estimate of all crime (excluding fraud): 4,333,000 incidents, Year ending March 2026

The Crime Survey for England and Wales estimate of the number of crimes experienced by people aged 16 and over and households in a 12-month period, excluding fraud and computer misuse, which lets the series be compared back to 1981.

Crime Survey estimate of all crime (excluding fraud): 1981 to Year ending March 2026ConservativeConservativeConservativeConservativeLabourLabourLabourLabourLabourCoalitionConservativeConservativeConservativeLabour05m10m15m19902000201020201981: 11,303,000 incidents · published 23 July 20261983: 12,128,000 incidents · published 23 July 20261987: 13,647,000 incidents · published 23 July 20261991: 15,564,000 incidents · published 23 July 20261993: 18,835,000 incidents · published 23 July 20261995: 19,786,000 incidents · published 23 July 20261997: 17,168,000 incidents · published 23 July 20261999: 15,247,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2002: 12,771,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2003: 12,390,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2004: 11,609,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2005: 10,778,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2006: 10,863,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2007: 11,182,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2008: 10,040,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2009: 10,432,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2010: 9,544,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2011: 9,711,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2012: 9,593,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2013: 8,757,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2014: 7,554,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2015: 7,177,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2016: 6,529,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2017: 6,057,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2018: 6,247,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2019: 6,431,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2020: 5,661,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2023: 4,385,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2024: 4,589,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2025: 4,595,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2026: 4,333,000 incidents · published 23 July 2026

Published valueProvisional or revisedLatestShaded bands: governments (see labels)Hover or use arrow keys to read a value

Police-recorded crime (excluding fraud): 5,235,213 offences, Year ending March 2026

The number of offences recorded by police forces in England and Wales in a 12-month period, excluding fraud and computer misuse.

Police-recorded crime (excluding fraud): Year ending March 2003 to Year ending March 2026LabourLabourLabourLabourCoalitionCoalitionConservativeConservativeConservativeConservativeLabour02m4m20052010201520202025Year ending March 2003: 5,791,277 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2004: 5,843,549 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2005: 5,476,771 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2006: 5,425,691 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2007: 5,322,377 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2008: 4,881,140 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2009: 4,630,383 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2010: 4,265,036 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2011: 4,078,475 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2012: 3,903,581 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2013: 3,553,168 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2014: 3,506,545 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2015: 3,574,552 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2016: 3,898,526 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2017: 4,321,587 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2018: 4,890,313 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2019: 5,266,025 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2020: 5,304,892 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2021: 4,615,788 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2022: 5,326,547 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2023: 5,578,041 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2024: 5,402,860 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2025: 5,307,433 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2026: 5,235,213 offences · published 23 July 2026

Published valueProvisional or revisedLatestShaded bands: governments (see labels)Hover or use arrow keys to read a value

Violence against the person (police-recorded): 1,962,413 offences, Year ending March 2026

Police-recorded offences of violence against the person in England and Wales in a 12-month period, from homicide and wounding through to harassment and stalking.

Violence against the person (police-recorded): Year ending March 2003 to Year ending March 2026LabourLabourLabourLabourCoalitionCoalitionConservativeConservativeConservativeConservativeLabour01m2m20052010201520202025Year ending March 2003: 708,742 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2004: 799,247 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2005: 845,673 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2006: 838,674 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2007: 814,865 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2008: 748,779 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2009: 709,008 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2010: 699,011 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2011: 665,486 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2012: 626,720 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2013: 601,141 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2014: 634,625 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2015: 778,198 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2016: 991,624 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2017: 1,158,111 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2018: 1,397,707 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2019: 1,673,441 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2020: 1,763,746 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2021: 1,775,871 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2022: 2,095,173 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2023: 2,108,717 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2024: 2,014,005 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2025: 1,937,944 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2026: 1,962,413 offences · published 23 July 2026

Published valueProvisional or revisedLatestShaded bands: governments (see labels)Hover or use arrow keys to read a value

Homicide (police-recorded): 499 offences, Year ending March 2026

Offences of murder, manslaughter and infanticide recorded by the police in England and Wales in a 12-month period.

Homicide (police-recorded): Year ending March 2003 to Year ending March 2026LabourLabourLabourLabourCoalitionCoalitionConservativeConservativeConservativeConservativeLabour05001k20052010201520202025Year ending March 2003: 1,047 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2004: 904 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2005: 868 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2006: 764 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2007: 758 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2008: 775 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2009: 664 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2010: 620 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2011: 639 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2012: 553 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2013: 558 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2014: 533 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2015: 539 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2016: 577 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2017: 709 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2018: 714 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2019: 673 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2020: 711 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2021: 573 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2022: 687 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2023: 581 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2024: 567 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2025: 539 offences · published 23 July 2026Year ending March 2026: 499 offences · published 23 July 2026

Published valueProvisional or revisedLatestShaded bands: governments (see labels)Hover or use arrow keys to read a value

Since the current government took office

MetricInheritedLatestChange
Crime Survey estimate of all crime (excluding fraud)4,589,000Year ending March 20244,333,000Year ending March 2026 5.6%
Police-recorded crime (excluding fraud)5,402,860Year ending March 20245,235,213Year ending March 2026 3.1%
Violence against the person (police-recorded)2,014,005Year ending March 20241,962,413Year ending March 2026 2.6%
Homicide (police-recorded)567Year ending March 2024499Year ending March 2026 12.0%

Changes during a government do not by themselves show what it caused. Method.

What these figures don’t measure

Crime Survey estimate of all crime (excluding fraud): Fraud and computer misuse, crimes against businesses, homicide, or crimes with no direct victim.

Police-recorded crime (excluding fraud): Crime that was not reported to the police, fraud and computer misuse, or crime in Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Violence against the person (police-recorded): Violence not reported to the police, sexual offences, or robbery, which are counted separately.

Homicide (police-recorded): The Home Office Homicide Index, which is the definitive count after cases are reclassified, or deaths from dangerous driving.